I medicated my kid. And I’m not ashamed.

Kiki started her new ADD meds this week. So far they seem to be working ok, she has been a lot less impulsive and she has been able to focus much more. We’ll see how it works out at school this next week.

I haven’t told many people about her ADD diagnosis, but those I have told seem to insist that medication is a mistake. As if I haven’t already tried to help her in other ways. Why can’t people accept that sometimes doctors are right? Sure I know they make mistakes all the time, but a lot of the time they get it right. I’m so sick of people making out that I am a bad parent because I went mainstream instead of insisting I know better than a doctor. Perhaps I know that she does need the meds and happen to agree with the doctor? Why is that so bad?!

Leave a Reply

