I’m ditching the cow

 

Image

While we wait for Kyle’s therapy to begin for his speech issues, I’m trying anything and everything that may possibly help. One of the therapists suggested we have him tested for celiac’s disease, since he has suffered with severe constipation since birth, which got me thinking and a little research later, I’m hoping that a Gluten Free Casein Free (GFCF) diet may be the key that unlocks his words. So about a million books from the library later, I’m on day 2 of casein free – which means no dairy of any kind. 

 

Did you know how many things have milk in? Would you have included chips in that category? Juice? The list goes on! So far we’ve managed to replace his beloved yogurt with a soy version that went down a treat, and soy cheese has been a hit too. But milk replacement has been tough. He didn’t like almond milk. He doesn’t like coconut milk. And I really don’t want to give him soy milk as I feel like that would be too much soy. So rice milk is up next, and I’m keeping my fingers crossed. I’m also on the hunt for casein-free probiotics, that a 2 year old can take. Not as easy as it sounds. 

 

We have to go casein-free for 3 weeks before trying gluten-free. I have already noticed lots of things are now available as gluten-free, so I’m hoping that won’t be too much of an issue. If it works out well for Kyle, then my next move will be to take Kiki GFCG too. I have a feeling that it could also be a big lifechanger for her if I can pull it off. 

 

So hold the milk – and the pop chips. For the next 3 weeks. Luckily he could eat fruit all day so at least he won’t go hungry!

Leave a Reply

