My son is talking!

20121211-230104.jpg

It’s happening. It’s really happening.

It started a few weeks ago, when Kyle suddenly said ‘wanna eat’ and pointed to Trader Joes (we often pick up a salad there for lunch while out doing errands). Then came Mommy, Daddy, Kiki and Kyle. Now he’s all ‘wanna cookie’, ‘wanna bubbles’, ‘bye bye Kiki’ and please, thank you and you’re welcome!

When it became apparent that he wasn’t talking as he should be, we were pretty sure that he would eventually just start talking, and probably do it in full sentences. More recently, especially after getting the autism spectrum diagnosis last month, I had begun to think maybe this wasn’t going to be the case. I’d started to come around to the idea that my son may never be like other kids. I was doubting myself. And here he is, talking.

We still have a long way to go, but the transformation in just this short time has been amazing. And I couldn’t be more happy to be wrong.

(Also, he draws. He drew this elephant, which is Ellie from his favorite tv show, Pocoyo. Did I mention he’s 2 and a half?)

Leave a Reply

