I’m a daring baker!

A couple of months ago I decided to sign up for The Daring Baker, and this month I finally got around to taking a challenge. (Last month was Tres Leches cake which I just don’t like, at all).

This month, Hannah of Rise and Shine was our October 2013 Daring Bakers’ hostess and she challenged us to bake our own double crusted savory pot pies. Using any from-scratch crust and filling we choose, we were allowed to get completely creative with our recipe, showing off the savory flavors and fillings from our own home or region.

As I wasn’t feeling up to much yesterday, we had a takeout turkey dinner from Boston Market, so I saved the leftovers and made a Turkey Pot Pie today. I used the flaky pastry recipe Hannah provided, then made a filling with the turkey, adding mushrooms, onions, carrots, celery, peas and corn.

The pie turned out to be delicious, usually I only put a crust on the top of my pot pies (hence it being a ‘pot’ pie) so it was a nice treat to have a bottom crust too. The only problem is I have a lot left!

image

I’m looking forward to next month’s challenge now.

One thought on “I’m a daring baker!

Leave a Reply

